25-Aug-2020 | Mozanto Sound - Time Lapse

Monzanto Sound -Time Lapse

Time Lapse is the debut EP release from Monzanto Sound, to be released by London’s None More Records

Across the 5 tracks, the four piece journey through krautrock inflected funk, psychedelic trip hop and cosmic neo-soul. They connect those dots using pulsating grooves, hypnotic polyrhythms and soaring vocals; all bathed in a Mali-I’s dub aesthetic. 

Opening track, ’23’ , brings the heat as angst-ridden vocals run riot over a tight skewed funk groove reminiscent of ESG and mid 70s Can. The syncopated drum beat and percussion drive hard while the bassline and keys dive deep. ’Golden Romance’ is a beautiful slice of dubbed out trip hop reminiscent of Red Snapper and Portishead. Bittersweet vocals from lead singer Sienna Bordello glide over melodic basslines and a groove that pays respect to the rhythms of 90s jungle. ’Lead The Way’ is a piano-led neo-soul gem that displays the band’s strong sense of melody and feel. ’We Are Strangers’ is a deep, four on the floor focussed heater that pulls on the band’s interest in both krautrock and electronic music, meeting somewhere in between Moodymann, Jon Hopkins and Neu! Those krautrock influences continue into the beat and rhythms used on title track ’Time Lapse’ which showcases the band working an off kilter spacey groove for Bordello to layer her remarkable vocals over. 

’23’ is the first track taken from the EP.