05-May-2020 | Green Light - The Devonns

Green Light - The Devonns

Chicago soul sensation The Devonns unleash the new single “Green Light” by Jamie Lidell, from their upcoming debut album on Record Kicks.

Chicago-based soul band The Devonns presents “Green Light”, the third single taken from their upcoming self-titled debut album that will hit the streets on June 5th 2020. The new single will be available on all digital platforms on May 15th.

“Green Light” was originally written and performed by Jamie Lidell and included in his 2008 album “Jim” on Warp Records. About the choice of covering “Green Light”, singer Mathew Ajjarapu comments: “Right after I dropped out of grad school, I was listening to three albums all around the same time: “The Way I See It” by Raphael Saadiq, “The Way I Feel” by Remy Shand, and “Jim” by Jamie Lidell. All three sort of lean on vintage soul in similar but distinct ways, and all three were (and are) to me absolutely enthralling. Jamie Lidell in particular puts out great album after great album and when I was building our set list, I wanted to pay homage to him. That’s sort of how “Green Light” worked its way into The Devonns’s live set list (and eventually the album)”. 

Straight from the streets of Chicago, Illinois, The Devonns (pronounced "De vaughns") are the brand new soul outfit and the latest addition to the Record Kicks’ family. Their debut album is an assortment of influences taking us back to the heyday of soul. Drawing influences from bands such as The Dramatics, The Isley Brothers and Leroy Hutson, yet bringing in their own unique modern twist, influenced by artists such as Jamie Lidell and Raphael Saadiq.

The band started in 2016 after multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Mathew Ajjarapu dropped out of med school and found himself unemployed and drifting. Listening to music constantly at the time, he found inspired to put a band together and create his own music. Pairing up with some of the best musicians Chicago has to offer, he founded The Devonns: the rhythm duty is entrusted to Khalyle Hagood (bass), Ari Lindo (guitar) and Khori Wilson (drums).